12 Comments

I feel like I've been on a mediocre reading track. I've been reading A LOT, but it's been a lot of 3-4 star books. So I don't have any good recommendations right now! But if anyone else is on Goodreads, let's connect there!! I love seeing what others are reading.

Expand full comment
Sep 20, 2021Liked by Amelia Arvesen

I'm reading 9th Street Women.. which is about the women in the Abstract Expressionist movement in NYC, and is reallly long but I so well written and would highly recommend for anyone who is an artist/thinks about art and the point of it!

Expand full comment
author

Just put this on my list!

Expand full comment

I love this thread! Always so wonderful to get new book recommendations. The best novel I've read recently is Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens. Just started reading She Explores: Stories of Life-Changing Adventures on the Road and in the Wild

Expand full comment
author

I've been meaning to read Where the Crawdads Sing! I'm so glad to hear it was the best novel you've ever read. Bumping it up my list :)

Expand full comment
author

So many good suggestions so far. I'm currently reading The Farm by Joanne Ramos. It's a dystopian novel about surrogates getting paid to carry the children of wealthy moguls. Such an interesting take on race, class, and motherhood.

Expand full comment

Whoa! Sounds intense!!

Expand full comment
Sep 17, 2021Liked by Amelia Arvesen

I just finished The Great Alone by Kristen Hannah - a very intense but incredible work of writing that takes place in Alaska. Just started Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver and looking forward to reading it!

Expand full comment

The Great Alone is in my top 5 list!!

Expand full comment

The great alone was SO intense omg I still think about it all the time

Expand full comment

*david chang

Expand full comment

I'm reading Guncle by steven rowley and its so much deeper than I thought it would be! A great read! Just finished Eat a Peach by David too - highly recommend even if you're not a big foodie!

Expand full comment