2 Comments

Hi Amelia! I'm finally getting round to answering here, yey :)

For the context: I'm someone who's looking to switch to freelance journalism from a very different field of work. I'm interested in culture and especially in vanishing traditions and worldviews, from the perspective of how that knowledge can enrich our modern lives.

Some questions that came to me recently:

- searching for the right publications (any helpful resources, tools?) and how to build lasting relatonships with them;

- tools for accounting (maybe you have some favourite apps/services that streamline your business processes?);

- mistakes you made in the beginning could be a treasure trove for others who are starting!

- story ideas: how to train your mind to look for stories in different contexts? I feel like I could be missing some great stories while I'm travelling, for example. I understand that it takes time to develop the journalist mindset, but maybe you have some tips.

- press trips (the same as field trips, right?) - due to the nature of my topic of writing, it would be really important to have the opportunity to visit places;

- the topic of rates is essential to navigate the industry, though it's a taboo for many people. Grateful to hear that you are going to speak about it.

This is what swirls around my newcomer's mind :) I hope it helps you generate some new ideas for your book. I'm looking forward to reading it!

Best of luck,

Nika

Expand full comment
author

Nika, these are such thoughtful questions! What an exciting time to be switching to freelance journalism, and I love knowing more about your area of study. Getting to work on answers to these.

Expand full comment