20 Comments
Mar 12Liked by Amelia Arvesen

Rejected all day, every day!!! I feel like I've been ghosted at least 12 times since 2024 started, and it is chipping away at my soul!!! I'm trying not to give up, but it is hard to overcome the feeling of not knowing if it's me and my pitch, or just a burgeoning inbox where my e-mail didn't stand out.

Expand full comment

Rejected! I know ghosting might be a product of over-worked or over-burdened editors, but my favorite publications and people to work with are ones that value the human connection and strive to respond.

Expand full comment

Rejected every time!

A good rejection can give me things to work on. But even just a no is better wondering and questioning if I should follow up, submit elsewhere…no response is just stressful.

Expand full comment
Feb 27Liked by Amelia Arvesen

Always the rejection! Even though it may be upsetting at times I believe a line of open communication is important.

Expand full comment

This is something Stasia and Emily and I are trying really hard for: Everyone gets an email back. As a freelancer, I always preferred a quick rejection—just so I knew for sure. But I probably also underestimated until recently just how full an editor's inbox is and how overwhelming it can be. Unfortunately there's just not enough time in the day to give every rejected pitch any kind of explanation (though with specific stories, friends, etc, I try my hardest) and, unfortunately, I have more sympathy now for the emails that just got lost in the mess or forgotten. But we're working really hard to make sure everyone at lest gets a timely email. Even if it's kind of generic and impersonal, I hope people would still prefer to know (as timely as possible) that I read it and considered it but ultimately it's not a fit.

Expand full comment
Feb 26Liked by Amelia Arvesen

Rejected for sure. That can often be an open door ("this isn't quite right for us, but feel free to send more ideas..."), and usually means you did something right. And then you know for sure you can take the pitch elsewhere quickly.

Expand full comment
Feb 26Liked by Amelia Arvesen

If I felt the pitch was great and I was being rejected, I would ask for feedback from a respected peer that you know.

Things in media are changing so fast that sometimes we overthink. ( I'm guilty of this)

Getting some fresh eyes looking at it can be helpful.

I've found people are ghosting a lot lately, in general if they aren't interested at all, you're not hearing from them. I hope this helps you!

Expand full comment
Feb 26Liked by Amelia Arvesen

Definitely rejected rather than nothing!

Expand full comment

I definitely prefer the rejection! Yes, it can be hard news to get, but I would rather have the clarity and closure of a rejection than be left hoping and trying to guess why I haven't heard anything.

Expand full comment
Feb 26Liked by Amelia Arvesen

Rejected any day. Ghosting is a mega pet peeve for me! It shows a total lack of respect for someone's time and effort. Now, I think it may be a little different with a "cold" pitch, but when it's something the person asked for or is expecting, I'll take a rejection over nothing!

Expand full comment